Intermediate Blogging

22Jun08

You already have a blog (or blogs), in fact you’re already enjoying a bit of traffic and maybe have also earned a few cents money from blogging. Now what?

What do you do with your blog stats? What plug-ins or widgets are helpful? How do you promote your blog? Will podcasting or vlogging help my blog? How do I sustain the interest in blogging? These are just some of the questions I encounter when meeting up with new bloggers.

I learned the answers to these questions mostly by bugging my technical support / blog host / Word Press whiz cousin. I also get the answers to these questions by reading other blogs about blogging such as Copy Blogger and Problogger. Sometimes I learn from blogging and searching on my own. I explore the different functions of my dashboard or search online for answers, usually via Google or Wikipedia.

From what I have learned and observed, here are some answers to the questions above:

  • You may use your blog stats for marketing purposes, to maximize keywords that people use, or to know which posts or topics interest people.
  • For self-hosted WordPress bloggers, the most useful are Akismet to fight spam, Bunny’s Technorati Tags for tagging keywords, and Photopress for easy uploading of images. I’m sure there are tons more plug-ins you can use for various purposes but these are my absolute must-haves.
  • You may promote your blog’s online via commenting on other blogs (NOT SPAMMING!), or joining social networking sites such as Multiply and FaceBook. You can also promote online by broadcasting via Twitter or Plurk. Or you can add a link to your blog in your instant messenger’s status message or in you email signature.
  • Offline promotion may be through including your blog’s URL (that’s Uniform Resource Locator) in your calling card, or by joining blogging or bloggers’ events. Note: You actually have to socialize with people for this to work.
  • Podcasting or vlogging can only improve your blog if you can more effectively convey your message or tell your story through podcasting or vlogging. Not all topics or niches can be podcasted or vlogged effectively. I might be boring to podcast a funny experience if you don’t know how to deliver it animatedly.
  • Finally, you can sustain your interest in blogging by continually challenging yourself through new topics, new niches, new ideas, new experiences.

These answers might not work too well for all bloggers but those are just my answers. I do not know all the answers to these questions especially the more technical ones.

That is why WordCamp Philippines excites me so much. We have a session on Blogging 102 which is directed for bloggers who are already blogging but still don’t know a lot about blogging.

What about you? Do you have any questions about blogging? Or maybe you can provide some tips or answer? DO SHARE! 🙂

3 Responses to “Intermediate Blogging”

  1. I have to install Akismet on my wordpress blog. Nakakainis na yung mga spammers.

  2. Nicely done Ria. I use Defensio than Akismet to fight spam though

  3. 3 karen

    these are wonderful tips. thank you! =)


Leave a Reply

