Photojournalism for Bloggers Workshop

07Sep09

Noted photographer slash blogger slash journalist Ate Jojie Alcantara has offered to conduct a Photojournalism for Bloggers Workshop. The workshop is open to all interested bloggers.

It shall consist of a lecture by Ate Jojie, followed by an outdoor photo shoot, an image editing tutorial, and a mini-contest. Participants may use a point and shoot or a DSLR camera.

A minimal fee to cover the venue and food expenses shall be collected. More details will be announced soon. I shall be coordinating this event with Ate Jojie.

If you are interested to be involved in this project as a participant, volunteer, or sponsor, please comment here and leave your name and email address.

Update: We’re only accepting a maximum of 10 bloggers from Davao City. And 5 from General Santos City. Please state here ASAP if you are interested to join.

17 Responses to “Photojournalism for Bloggers Workshop”

  1. Count me in as a volunteer! ^^

  2. Cool! I’m in! If there’s anything I can do to help, do tell me.

  3. This one, I’m sure I won’t miss. πŸ™‚

  4. Teka, kinda ambiguous yung first comment ko…Ang ibig ko lang naman sabihin eh talagang I’ll be attending the workshop. Lol.

  5. I’m interested.

  6. @Chattee – OF COURSE!

    @Jim – YEY!

    @Brendel – Kala ko you want to be a speaker. LULS!

    @Lyle – Uh huh!

    πŸ™‚

  7. If you need an additional volunteer, do count me in. πŸ™‚

  8. Count me in, too!!!!! (raises hand in glee)

    Ria dearest, thanks so much for the opening spiel. Although the first line made me sound like a “slasher” (and you forgot cartoonist slash former dance teacher). I am hoping to meet a lot more bloggers like you and me who are fond of sharing their photo stories on the net. I am actually aiming for those who do not know how to resize nor crop their super large photos. (wink wink)

    What is my photojournalism lecture all about? Apart from sharing my skills, I want to make it fun, hands on and inspiring. I want to teach us all to become better storytellers with our images. Bloggers have every right and respect to be the unique journalists we are. We all just need to learn how to enhance our works, both pictures and words (I also teach creative writing but that’s another story slash workshop).

    Just make sure we have merienda ha. Plus a good projector and sound system. A videoke is optional.

    Oh, and bring your own laptops. In one workshop, a student lugged in his PC desktop.

    Thanks for the interest, guys. Will email a short bio, Ria. Am still editing out the parts where I joined dance competitions.

    Chattee, you will be my dakilang kargador. πŸ™‚ love you!

    Regards,
    Jojie

  9. @dulce – Sure. πŸ™‚

    @Ate Jojie – Lots of love! I’m super excited. We all are.

  10. Talagang para sa akin ang workshop na ito! I have my Point & Shoot but talagang freeloader ako pag dating sa pics kasi wala akong alam pagdating sa mga resize-resize na yan. Thanks in advance, ladies!

  11. I dont know Manual Shooting. Puro automatic gamit ko ng aking Canon DSLR. Is this topic included Ms. Jojie? Ate Ria?

  12. @Avel – Yes, I think so. Gen San bloggers and other Mindanao bloggers are very much welcome to this. This will be held sometime November. πŸ™‚

  13. Hey, this is a great learning module for any blogger. Count DavaoBase.com in!

    P.S. Dalawa kami ng wife ko na nagme-maintain ng DavaoBase. Are we counted as one?
    P.P.S. Sana sa Davao City lang ang gathering na ito, para mkapunta kami. πŸ™‚

  14. @DavaoBase – yes, sure.

    We’ll be posting details by next week. πŸ™‚

  15. Count me in. I can also volunteer.

  16. Hi Bariles! Delayed reply ito on your query if I will be teaching manual shooting. Nope, I won’t be touching on technical aspects of photography, because it will alienate newbies. More on composition, style, content, captioning and how to “break” rules in photojournalism so you can stand out. πŸ™‚

    Hope this helps. πŸ™‚

    Jojie

  17. 17 Samantha Louise Dorado

    kinda late 😦
    i wanna be a participant πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

